FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. How do I get an account to access PCTC?

The CyberForce site requires a valid DoD CAC for identification and authentication. Once CAC-authenticated, users will have access to PCTC content via CyberForce. Please see the attached guide for instructions on using your CAC with PCTC. Please access the site with Chrome, Firefox or Edge version 41 or greater (IE is not supported).

A CyberForce identity is created for you (using your CAC) upon your first login to CyberForce. If you've never logged into PCTC before, a new account will be created for you automatically when you attempt to access PCTC through CyberForce. If you already have a PCTC account, you will be asked to sync your CyberForce identity with your existing PCTC account prior to being automatically re-directed to the requested piece of PCTC content.

Please do not create multiple accounts in PCTC as we cannot combine or merge accounts, so your previous course records cannot be tied to a second account. If you have a new .mil address, please let the help desk know and we can change the email address in your existing account. Thank you.

2. How do I request membership into a community?

Community memberships are initiated by an invitation sent from a Community Manager. If you wish to request membership to a community, you must do so using an out-of-band channel (i.e., emailing or calling the Community Manager and requesting an invitation be sent).

3. If I’m not a community member, what will I be able to do in PCTC?

Users who have been removed from a community are considered “Unassigned” members. Unassigned members are still able to view courses and course progress, and edit profile information. Visitors, or unauthenticated users, will not be able to access any content.

4. How do I access courses?

To access courses, you need to have a PCTC account and be a member of a community. Community Managers add users to their community by sending users an invitation via email. When you accept the invitation (by clicking on the invite link), you will be added as a member in that community. If you click the invite link and do not already have a PCTC account, you will be automatically forwarded to account registration. Once community membership has been established, you will automatically have a list of available courses. You may then choose to enroll in any of the available courses, which will move the course under their My Courses tab.

5. Can I remove courses I do not want listed under My Courses or My Available Courses tab?

You can move courses you do not wish to see listed on your My Courses tab by choosing to either Archive or Withdraw from the Course. Archiving the course will move the course under the Archive tab. It can be moved between Archive and My Courses as desired to customize the My Courses view. Choosing to withdraw from a course will remove it from the My Courses view. Withdrawing from a course will no longer show any related progress within the User, Course, or Community reports.

6. If I Withdraw or Archive a course from my available course list, will I lose my progress status or completion status?

Your course progress record will be retained if you move a course from your list of available courses. Should you decide to return to a course that you partially completed previously, you can begin where you left off in that course. The only time completion status would be lost, or reset to zero progress, is if an Administrator resets your course progress. An example scenario is if a Community Manager requires you to complete, or re-complete, a course to meet specific training objectives.

7. When two courses have the same training asset (such as a lecture or demo) listed in their outline, do I need to view the asset in each course for completion credit?

You do not need to complete training assets multiple times. When you complete any lecture demo, or lab, you get completion credit for that asset. If it appears in another course outline, it will be marked complete.

8. Will I be able to take a quiz/evaluation more than once?

Generally, the answer to this is yes. However, quizzes can be customized to limit the number of attempts and ability to view past results. After launching a quiz, there may be a “View Results” button. Clicking this allows you to view Quiz results. Following the “Quiz Details” link will provide additional details including the questions, points, correct answers and your answers.

9. Where can I find my course completion report/certificate?

Once a course has been completed a “Completion Certificate” link will display next to the course if listed in either your My Courses or Archived Courses tabs. Clicking this link will allow you to view and subsequently print a completion certificate. A “View Completion Certificate” link is also available if you navigate to a completed course that you are currently enrolled in. You must be enrolled in a course to receive a course completion certificate upon finishing a course. Users must complete all parts of a course to receive a course completion certificate. Please make sure you save all course completion certificates to your computer.

10. How are my course activities reported and who gets the reports?

Users that have been assigned the Training Advisor role can generate detailed reports for users, courses, and communities. Additional summary reporting is available for Administrators. The Training Advisor role can be assigned to anyone within an organization by a Community Manager or Administrator.

11. What functionalities are available to Community Managers?

Community Managers will likely be someone with responsibility for training at any or every level of their organizational structure. Within PCTC, Community Managers are responsible for managing the community they own, including all child communities, and the users within. Managers can create new child communities, assign roles to users such as Training Advisor or Community Manager of a child community, and transfer members between child communities. An invitation for users to join a community is initiated by the Community Manager, and the Community Manager can lock/unlock user accounts, reset user course progress, and generate a number of reports.

12. Do Community Managers have System Administrator privileges?

Community Managers do not have System Administrator privileges, nor should they need it. Community Managers have administrative functionality for their own community and its child communities only.

13. How will new content be made available to users in PCTC?

Administrators import and manage courses within the system. They manage subscriptions and determine if new content is available to all communities or only specific communities. Most new content will be public. The PCTC community will subscribe to most course groups, and then every community below will have access. Users will be able to find the new courses under their Available Courses tab.

14. If I have feedback or would like to report a problem I’m having, how do I do so?

To report a problem or provide other feedback, click the Feedback link at the bottom of the PCTC window, or send email to PCTC-support@cert.org, or call 412-268-3300. Please detail as much information as possible including the specific system element(s) involved (i.e., community, course, content piece), and any error messages you may have received.

15. Why can’t I access the course certificate after I’ve completed a course?

You must be enrolled in a course to receive a course completion certificate upon finishing a course. The system tracks your progress in a course whether you are enrolled in it or not, but you must enroll in the course to receive a certificate. Simply click the “Enroll in Course” link or button to enroll in a course. After you do, the course will then be listed under your My Courses tab.

16. Why can't I start another lab?

There is a limit of 2 concurrent on demand exercises (labs) for a single user. This is the error message you should be getting if you are already at the limit. You can see what exercises you currently have by going to My Exercises and scrolling to the bottom section. You can connect to and end any existing labs you no longer need, or hit the cancel button directly on the page to free up your limit. Moving forward, if you click the "end" button when you are done with the lab instead of just closing the window or clicking the "logoff" button, then it will not keep the session running.